Family Concerts: Beethoven Lives Upstairs

IMG_0111 - Version 2

Little did the orchestra know, but Beethoven was actually upstairs during the rehearsal for Beethoven Lives Upstairs, our first family concert of the season on Saturday, October 25, 11:00am.

What happens when a “madman” moves upstairs? Embark on the story of young Christoph and discover the genius of master composer Ludwig van Beethoven, who has taken the upstairs apartment of our hero’s Vienna home.

Pre-concert activities begin at 10am in the Grand Lobby.
More information and tickets available here.


Hello from Nicholas McGegan!

Few people have a passion for Baroque music like the Grammy-nominated Music Director of the Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra, Nicholas McGegan. He’s back in Seattle and excited about the three shows he’ll be conducting, beginning tonight, which will feature music by Bach and Telemann.

We were able to catch him backstage between rehearsals and between conversations with one of our librarians, Robert Olivia.

Zart Performs at Brechemin on Sunday, October 26

Zart Dombourian-Eby performing at Le Poisson Rouge in New York City. Her next piccolo recital is Sunday, October 26 at Brechemin Auditorium. (c) Brandon Patoc

Seattle Symphony principal piccoloist, Zart Dombourian-Eby, is one of our very active performers even when away from Benaroya Hall. She will be both performing and teaching this Sunday, October 26, at 7:00pm in Brechemin Auditorium at UW as part of the annual Felix Skowronek Memorial Event.

The performing half of the program is focused on the piccolo and includes two pieces written specifically for her; one by Martin Amlin, one by Gary Schocker; and a Gershwin-inspired piece by Ken Benshoof (husband of Seattle Symphony cellist Theresa Benshoof!) called “Timeless.” The second hour of the evening will be devoted to a Masterclass featuring members of the Seattle Flute Society.

Full program listed below. More information here.

(C) Larey McDaniel

(C) Larey McDaniel

Darius Milhaud – Exercice Musical
Francis Poulenc – Villanelle
Georges Auric – Scherzo
Martin Amlin – Sonatina Piccola
Astor Piazzolla – Tango Etude No. 3
Georg Philipp Telemann – Fantasie No. 3
Gary Schocker – Sonata No. 2
Ken Benshoof – Timeless